Happenings

I love my new home town.  I love my new friends.  I love knowing that God has called my family to this community!

Yesterday, we experienced our first shopping day in McCook.  McCook is about an hour away from our residence and has conveniences like restaurants, grocery stores, Wal-Mart, a Christian book store, and other amenities we are lacking.  Although it is a tiny town by Greenville standards, it is a metropolis compared to Benkelman.   

We had lunch, then went to the Christian book store (quaint little store, but about 1/6 the size of Lifeway), Verizon Wireless (seems we are texting more and needed to change our plan), Buckle (Yes, I was just as surprised as you – they have a Buckle – I got some jeans that are long enough!!)  then we went to Wal-Mart (we should have bought stock).

The hospital had a fund-raiser at the local movie theater last night.  I felt as if I had been transported back in time.  We walked to the theater and watched as people of the community, young and old, showcased their musical talents on the stage.  It reminded me of the Country Club talent show at the end of “Dirty Dancing” (I am NOT promoting this movie).  You get the picture.  Of course there was no Patrick Swayze.

There are some problems with living here.  All is not peachy.  I found out this week that there are no roadside stands that sell boiled peanuts!  No boiled peanuts?  They don’t know what they are missing!  The other problem is I can’t find my Creme  Brulee creamer.  My breakfast staple is not sold in the local stores.  I may need a care package ASAP!!

All kidding aside, my brother, Kevin, is in the hospital in Greenville.  He is having some serious complications and I can’t be there to support my family during this time.  It is very difficult for me to be away, but I know that I am where God wants me to be.  Please keep Kevin and our family in your prayers.

…and send me some boiled peanuts!!

Corey

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amanda on April 11, 2010 at 2:20 am

    It is so nice to read your blog. I feel like I am sitting across from you listening to your adventures in God’s calling for your family! You and your family, your new home, new friends, and new experiences are in my prayers! Send me your mailing address, would you? I love you guys!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Vernon Whetstone on April 12, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Hi Corey, boiled peanuts??? Must have missed that one in my trip into Georgia, but that was several years ago. Do remember the peanut wagons parked alongside the road waiting for transport to storage though. Kind of like the harvest wagons and trucks of corn you will be seeing in a few months. 🙂

    As for other roadside stands, wait until August, we will be knee-deep in pickups parked on Chief street with the beds overloaded and rounded off with fresh-picked sweet corn right out of the field still wet with the morning dew. Better get there quickly, the entire pickup load is sold out in just a couple of hours.

    Usually the farmer’s grandchildren are selling it. In some larger towns around there will be stands with the corn and other garden crops for sale. By then you will want to post an armed guard on your front porch to keep the people away who will be trying to give you some zucchini–seriously. 🙂 And that is the ONLY reason people lock their cars around here… 🙂 🙂 otherwise you will find the front seat full of the green stuff.

    Will be praying for your brother, and for you. Distance is nothing to God, we can send guided prayer missles right to where he is.

    Reply

Leave a comment